top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise

My Archaeological Sites Bucket List

Updated: Jun 26, 2020

This is a slightly different post to my previous ones but hey thought I'd change it up a bit! As a 17-year-old college student, I obviously haven't travelled that much but it is something I absolutely want to do in the future. So I thought I would share what my Archaeological sites bucket list! Do share with me your own bucket list, I am genuinely super interested and hopefully, in a few years, time one or two of these will be crossed off.

And in no particular order, let's start...


Stonehenge

Staring on my home turf of the Land of Eng is Stonehenge. I've never actually been despite being a 5-hour drive away but as soon as I get that driving license, I am heading down there ASAP! Stonehenge has always fascinated me as it has baffled people for centuries and I do love an archaeological mystery! I do think we will never be able to completely answer the who, what and how questions about Stonehenge but that makes it so much fun to study and attempt to understand.


Great Pyramids of Giza

Time for a cliche Ancient Egypt sentence in 3, 2, 1 and ….

I have been obsessed with Ancient Egypt since I was like 7. (Sorry cliche I know)

The Pyramids similarly to Stonehenge have been a point of debate for so long, in my opinion, it was definitely aliens that built them. (just joking of course) Also, the Great Pyramids are the oldest of the seven wonders of the ancient world and the only one of them to remain intact. It is absolutely crazy how something has been able to remain for so long.

Did you know that woolly mammoths still walked the earth for approximately 1000 years after the Great Pyramids were built AND that Cleopatra was born closer to the invention of the iPhone than their construction? If those two facts aren’t a reason to see this wonder yourself then I don’t know what is!


Machu Picchu

I feel like there is a trend of places being surrounded by a mystery on this list!

Of course, Machu Picchu had to feature on the list. Machu Picchu also plays on my love of archaeoastronomy, due to how its buildings play on astronomical alignments. The natural landscape around this site just looks stunning set high in the Andes Mountains.


Chichen Itza

Humans do just really like putting big blocks in cool patterns huh? No wonder Tetris and Minecraft have been some of the most successful games.

I do of course want to visit all of the 7 wonders of the new world but Chichen Itza definitely makes my top ten list. I desperately want to learn more about the Maya civilisation and Chichen Itza is pretty much their logo!


Petra

Petra is one of the world's richest and largest archaeological sites, it has been inhabited since prehistoric times. The architecture of Petra is just outstanding half-built, half-cave! I would just love to see that gorgeous reddish-pink colour with my own eyes!


Acropolis of Athens

Does this one really need an explanation? Ancient History is probably my favourite historical period and one of my favourite (if not THE favourite) ancient civilisations is the ancient greeks! (it is a close call with the Romans.) When I think of the ancient Greeks the Acropolis of Athens immediately comes to mind. The actual dream is to do a mainland Greece road trip and visit SO MUCH ARCHAEOLOGY, I honestly could do a post just on my Greek Archaeological SItes Bucket list, maybe I will! However, just picking one it has to be the Acropolis, just look at it!


The Terracotta Army

This list really is taking me all over the globe! This site is one of the greatest discoveries of the 20th Century. The size of this place is something I cannot comprehend without seeing myself - Pit 1 is about the size of an aeroplane hangar with over 6,000 terracotta figures of soldiers and horses.


Skara Brae

This list is not only taking me all over the globe but also all through time! I feel like this site is a lot less common than the other ones I have mentioned. Skara Brae is located in Orkney, Scotland and is home to Europe’s most complete Neolithic village. The site was occupied from roughly 3180 BC to about 2500 BC, that is a really long time ago!


The Colosseum

Oh no, my really nerdy Roman lover side is about to show! But does this place really need the introduction, I think not! Let’s just bask in its glory with these beautiful pictures:


Pompeii

Last but definitely not least is Pompeii. I know I said this list was in no particular order but I am going to be honest, Pompeii is probably number one! Everyone knows Pompeii, it is a story that every kid is told in Primary School history to try and make them listen and it certainly worked on me. I remember sharing it with my younger brother and it also worked and got him interested in history. I honestly don’t know what to write about Pompeii, it is just somewhere I have always wanted to visit and experience the history first hand.



So that is it! I hope you enjoyed reading and having a surge of wanderlust bolt up your spine. Which archaeological sites do you also want to visit? Any that don't make my list? Comment them down below or tweet them to me @hellahistory, I would love to know!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page