top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise

My June in Review

Despite it being almost halfway through July, I thought I would do a round-up of all the history-themed thing I got up to over the past month! Remember at the end to tell me what history things did you get up to in June? Or what history things do you have planned for July?


Read in June:

School has been keeping me very busy so apart from all my textbooks, I only got round to reading one book, Dead Famous by Greg Jenner. I absolutely loved the book and already have a full review up on the Blog.

Watched in June:

One of the best ever history tv-shows came back for season three in June the wonderful House Through Time presented by the amazing David Olusoga. This is my all-time favourite History TV-Show because it offers an incredibly personal way of learning British history as a whole.

Available of BBC iPlayer

Netflix released its new history documentary series called History 101. I haven't watched all of it yet but so far the episodes have been great for learning bite-size chunks of history quickly.


Like many people, I was inspired by the Black Lives Matter Movement to further educate myself on Black history.


The first thing I watched to do with this was Kevin Hart's Guide to Black History. Despite it being incredibly cheesy and cringy I did actually learn about a lot of incredible Black people who have wrongly been erased from History.

Available on Netflix

I also watched The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson. This incredible documentary re-examines the 1992 death of Marsha P. Johnson which originally ruled as suicide but many believe was actually murder. I truly recommend that everyone watches this as it brings LGBTQ+ and Black history into one.


Listened in June:

I was very sad to finish the You're Dead to Me Podcast especially considering I didn't know how long it was going to be till we got more episodes. Like many people in my History Instagram bubble, I am absolutely in love with this podcast it is honestly the best history podcast out there. I just love how it brings funny and history together to make it so easy and enjoyable to listen to. The quiz at the end is also super fun to check I've actually taken in what they've said!

Available of BBC Sounds or wherever you get your podcasts

I've also been listening to a bit of the History of Rome podcast as I have really been wanting to learn some more about that history as a whole.


Played in June:

I LOVE Civilization VI! It is my all-time favourite game and I have played it a lot in June. My lovely girlfriend who has had me for months and months just talking about this game was finally convinced to buy it. We have played it a bit together and it is just so much fun!

The Graphics are also to die for!

For those of you who don't know Civilization VI is a turn-based, strategy game in which you take on as a leader from civilization in history. The aim of the game is to expand your empire, enrich your culture and compete against the other great civilizations from history.

I have actually learnt a lot of history through this game, just by searching about things or people in the game. The game also has an encyclopedia built-in which tells you the history of objects, people or practices.

What history things did you get up to in June? Or what history things do you have planned for July? Let me know @ahellaloadofhistory on Instagram or @hellahistory on Twitter!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page